Parties and Puppies!

What an eventful week! In my last post I talked about my son turning one. That weekend, we had a big party for him! We originally planned a BBQ at our house, but moved to the local Pizza Hut, due to rain. But I think it turned out pretty great, and I didn’t have to take care Of cleanup!   

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

Owen had an absolute blast and got so many great gifts! Lots of toys, clothes, and money! He got so much money, in fact, that I’ve decided to open a savings account for him. He has a big piggy bank that’s completely full, so every year on his birthday (or sooner, if necessary), we’ll empty it and take his money to the bank! 

   

      

On a sad note, we also ended up rehoming our dog, Rowan, last weekend. For the last year, he has been so jealous and aggressive with Owen, that I just couldn’t have him around anymore. He used to just growl, but ever since Owen started walking, he’s been barking as well. It would only take one second for things to turn south, and change our lives forever. We decided that we had no choice but to find him a new home.

My mom works with a lady named Dawn who is a total animal nut! She has a female border collie and has actually been searching for a high energy companion for her. We took Rowan to meet them, and it was amazing. Her house is completely dog-friendly, there are no kids to stress Rowan out, and the two dogs just love each other! I cried as we were driving away, but I really couldn’t have asked for a better home for him. Dawn has even been sending me updates and videos, and Rowan seems to be so happy! It definitely makes things easier to see that he’s having fun.

Because we are total dog people, my hubby and I decided that we can’t be without one! We decided that we needed to make sure we got a family-friendly breed, and we wanted a puppy. It was hard with Rowan, because we got him as an adult and didn’t know his history. With a puppy, you know what you’re getting because you’re helping to write their history.

Well, wouldn’t you know it, as soon as we started looking, we found a lady near us who was selling lab puppies! I’m usually against backyard breeders, but in this case, they weren’t trying for puppies, but their neighbor’s male dog snuck under their fence and…let’s just say they’re taking momma to get spayed as soon as possible!

We picked out a beautiful black female, and we named her Maddie May! We are completely in love, as is Owen! The two of them are so cute it hurts. And I can already tell that they’re going to be best buds!

Best birthday present ever?? I think yes.

      

         

Leave a Reply

