When I Found Out I Was Pregnant

I found out I was pregnant back in August, 2013. I had been suspicious for about a week, but I had taken two home pregnancy tests and both were negative!

Lucky for me, my annual exam was scheduled for August. While I was in my Gyno’s office, I mentioned that I thought I might be pregnant. She ordered me a blood test for that day.

I remember her telling me, as she did my breast exam, that I had great breasts for breastfeeding, which might come in handy soon!

Ummm, thanks? Haa!

After getting my blood drawn, I headed to see my mom in Portland. I don’t remember why, but I had my brother with me in the car. As we were driving and chatting, I got a call from my doctor’s office.

And my heart began racing.

I turned the volume down on my phone, and tried to keep my cool. I didn’t want my brother knowing what was up.

My doctor told me that my test was positive, and that she guessed that I was about four weeks along. She told me to call the office and schedule an appointment for four weeks out.

I hung up and sat in awe for a second, driving in silence. I glanced over at my brother. I thought to myself that I needed to tell my husband before anyone else, but, instead, I word-vomited.

“Wanna know a secret??” I asked, with a huge, silly grin. “I’m pregnant!”

Ahhhh! What excitement! It was completely unplanned, and I was freaked! My entire life changed that day.

And my brother loves that he was the first to know 😉 What a great uncle!

How did you find out you were pregnant? Have you ever had a pregnancy test give you a false reading?

If you liked this post, Follow my blog with Bloglovin!

Leave a Reply

