Stripping Cloth Diapers

This weekend, I had my first experience stripping our cloth diapers. We’ve been using cloth for about four months now, but for the past week or so, I’ve noticed that even the clean diapers have a bit of stink to them! Nasty!

So I looked up how to strip them. I’d heard of doing this, but it’s something I managed to avoid for four months. It just seemed way too complicated! But this website walked me right through it.

There are many options for stripping your cloth diapers, but I went with the blue Dawn method (because I already had some blue Dawn at the house). And it worked! The diapers are smelling fresh again, and it only took a few hours out of my weekend to achieve!

First, I washed the diapers, so we could start with clean cloth. Then, I added one little drop of blue Dawn dish soap, and began a rinse/spin (I have a top loader, by the way). I then kept doing rinse/spins until there were no more suds! Easy peasy!

HOWEVER, I think I’m going to purchase some Oxiclean or BacOut and add a scoop to my normal wash routine. I’m hoping that will help keep the bacteria dead and dead, which will keep the stink away. This way, I can continue to avoid stripping my diapers.

If you use cloth diapers, have you ever had to strip them? Which method do you prefer?

Leave a Reply

