Daddy Stayed Home Today!

Today Marshall woke up with some terrible tummy troubles. So he called his boss and stayed home with us!

This is a busy time of year for Marshall, and he’s usually gone for about twelve hours a day. That’s a long time to have no help with the baby! And this past week has been especially rough, with a ton of extra spit-up and fussiness. So when Marshall said he was staying home, I said a silent ‘thank you!’

I don’t like that his tummy hurt…but I also don’t like getting all of the spit-up.

I can’t even believe how much I was able to get done! I got the diapers washed and folded, then did an additional five loads of laundry (!!!), got the dishes done, cleaned out the hall closet, cooked dinner, and even got some stuff together for our upcoming garage sale!

All because the hubby was there to hold the fussy little puke-machine! (Whom I love dearly)

I got a lot done, which is awesome. But I’m mostly thankful that my hubby was able to get a taste for what it’s like to be home with Owen all day. He works so hard, but it’s a very different kind of work than what I do. And, though he loves that I’m home with Owen, I also feel that he really doesn’t understand what it is that I do all day.

Being unable to do anything because your crying baby needs you isn’t that fun. I do love being home with Owen, but it seriously agitates the ol’ OCD to watch helplessly as the laundry and dishes pile up around me.

The other day, I turned on the box fan and an enormous dust-bunny flew out from under the couch. As I rocked Owen to sleep, I pretended I didn’t see it. Who has time for dust-bunnies when baby needs mommy?

So, to have the hubbs here with me all day, witnessing the chaos, was pretty nice. He even made a few comments about how much I seemed to be able to get done when there was someone around to help me.

I realize that he has to work, and therefore has to be gone during the week. But it’s nice to know that he’s realizing how hard I have to work, too.

And how many outfits I go though in a day…

Needless to say, he got a big ‘thank you’ from me for all of his hard work today. 😉

Leave a Reply

