Camping With a Baby: the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

We took Owen camping for the first time this weekend. Let me tell ya, camping with a four-month-old is interesting. We had a wonderful time, but I was so happy to have my family there to help out!

Owen is, overall, a pretty easy-going baby. He did really good on this trip. The only time he was truly unhappy was while he was wearing his infant life jacket. We took a boat to our campsite, so this was a necessity.

He hated it.

But I have to say, I was very happy with the life jacket we chose, and felt really comfortable taking Owen on the boat, as long as he was wearing it. It has a floaty part behind his head, which ensures that the baby will float face-up, in case anything were to happen.

Little Man in his life jacket

Little Man in his life jacket

Because it was hot, hot, hot, and we were camping right on the lake, we, of course, had to go swimming.

Owen was in a rash guard shirt, a swim diaper, a bucket hat, and baby sunscreen. As he’s never been in the water (outside of the bath) or spent much time in the sun, I was extra careful with him. I actually bought a baby floaty that holds both baby and mommy, to make sure he was constantly supervised, but also able to have fun. It took me a while to get in, so aunty Bri swam with Owen.

Aunty Bri and Owen

Aunty Bri and Owen

He didn’t like it. Ha! His face was priceless when he felt the cool water! He didn’t cry, thank goodness, but he definitely didn’t laugh…or even smile! He had a perma-grimace the whole time. But, like I said, he didn’t cry. So we rolled with it!

Around the campfire he did great! I wore an Off! clip-on insect repellant, which kept us both safe from the mosquitos. I can happily report that both of us returned home from this trip bite-free! If you can find a coupon, these are so worth the buy.

The only sucky part about the whole trip was the whole tent thing. I honestly love tent camping. Just not with a baby.

I brought travel co-sleeper for Owen. It is, essentially, a mat with edges. It was actually pretty awesome! It ensured that neither Marshall nor I would roll onto Owen, and that Owen wouldn’t roll out!

But, despite the sleeping arrangements working out so well, it was still rough. When I have to wake up to nurse and change Owen several times a night, it’s nice to be able to sit up and rock, and to change him on his changing table.

Not a possibility in a tent.

I was holding Owen in one arm, using the other to prop myself up from behind. Then, crawling around on my hands and knees to change him. Uggg. Next time, I camp in a cabin or I don’t camp at all!

Overall, it was an awesome trip. Camping with an infant wasn’t as difficult as I had been anticipating. Having family around to hold him and give me a break was awesome. But it was great to be able to experience the outdoors with him, and I totally can’t wait for next summer!

Little Bear

Little Bear

Leave a Reply

